Doorbell Ringing

Just sit at your typewriter and bleed- E. Hemingway

This was quoted as something Ernest Hemingway said of the process of writing, and today it struck a cord with me. It’s too easy to put overwhelming pressure on yourself before sitting down to write so the best way for me, it would appear, is to open the document and just start. 

The sun had just set and I was just regaining my energy, trying to decide on what to do with my evening when the doorbell rang. I wasn’t expecting anyone. I opened the door and alas, in front of me were three angels in white, ready to pamper me. I was certain this had to be a mistake, however one does not turn away angels on the doorstep. Surely it was a sign. I welcomed them in with sheer delight and, concerned that they had the wrong address asked them to double check their booking. There must have been some kind of mix up in their system because they seemed adamant that this was where they were meant to be. I didn’t argue. Instead, I helped them set up and reassured them that their unexpected visit was more than welcome. 

Sometimes, plans just find you. So instead of going to pick up a few things at the mall I enjoyed a massage, manicure and pedicure in the comfort of my own home. 

These types of mistakes should be encouraged. zenrock

